ACHPER QLD 2020 Teacher Awards

Congratulations to our 2020 Teacher Award Recipients. Please click on the links to read about their contributions. Once again the caliber of the nominations we received shows the incredible commitment, passion and innovation of our Health and Physical Education Teachers in Queensland. Thank you to all those who nominated their talented staff and peers. 

To celebrate our amazing colleagues, we would like to offer each of our 2020 winners* free registration to any ACHPER QLD Professional Learning event in 2021. See our draft calendar here.

*Where multiple winners have been recognised in a category, one free registration will be offered to that school.

Teresa Carlson Excellence in Teaching Award


Catherine Sandurski, St Thomas More College

Quality Teacher Award: Winner

Liza Costa, St John's College, Nambour

Quality Teacher Award: Honorary Mention

Morgan Roberts, Mabel Park State High School

David Keating Voluntary Service Award: Joint Winner

Michael Beattie, Yarrabilba State Secondary College

David Keating Voluntary Service Award: Joint Winner


Peter Edwards. Lachlan Reilly, Thomas Fischer, Peter Gooley, Graham Duel, Lorraine Neate, Carmel College Thornlands

Pre-Service Teacher: Winner

Yasmin Atwani, Griffith University

Pre-Service Teacher Award: Honorary Mention

Ruby Andrews, The University of Queensland

Pre-Service Teacher Award: Honorary Mention

Isaiah Kuchel, Queensland University of Technology 

Innovative Program Award: Winner

Sports Development Program, Maroochydore State High School

Innovative Program Award: Honorary Mention

LYDP Surf Lifesaving Loganlea State High School